1603 Upper Primary (UP) Schools Will Be Merged With High Schools – Odisha Government

By ENO Beuro

August 31, 2017

Odisha government notified that, to make a proper coordination 1603 Upper Primary (UP) Schools in the state will be merged with High Schools either in one campus or next to each other with effect from September 1.

After merger, these high schools will be known as nodal high schools. Classes up to Class VIII shall be treated as the Elementary Unit of the School and Class IX and X shall be treated as the Secondary Class.

According to sources, Balasore district has the highest number of UP schools that is 145 to be merged with its nearby High schools. Similarly, 135 schools in Cuttack, 125  in Jajpur, 120 in Mayurbhanj and 114 in Kendrapara will be merged.

Below is the complete list of districts having the number of UP schools that would be merged with adjacent high schools.

Angul(40), Balangir(55), Balasore(145), Bargarh(42), Bhadrak(107), Boudh(12), Cuttack(135), Deogarh(14), Dhenkanal (46), Gajapati(5), Ganjam(98), Jagatsinghpur(89), Jajpur(125), Jharsuguda (29), Kalahandi(27), Kandhamal(12), Kendrapara(114), Keonjhar(58), Khurdha(83), Koraput(15), Malkangiri(1), Mayurbhanj(120), Nabarangpur(3), Nayagarh(45), Nuapada(7), Puri(87), Rayagada(5), Sambalpur(32), Subarnapur(6) and Sundargarh(46).

Notably, there are about 21,000 UP schools and 6,193 government and aided secondary schools and 849 recognized high schools in the state now.

Also read more about Adhaar Linking till 31 Dec.