Paika Bidroha Was The First War Of Independence In 1817

The Odisha Govt urged the Union govt to declare “Paika Bidroha” as the first war of independence in 1817 .

The Odisha cabinet on Tuesday approved the proposal to recommend the Centre to declare “Paika Bidroha” of 1817 as the first war of independence in Indian history.

The cabinet meeting, presided over by chief minister Naveen Patnaik, was convened only to approve a proposal in this regard.

Tourism and Culture Minister Ashok Chandra Panda said that, “As the ‘Paika Bidroha’ took place 40 years before the Sepoy Mutiny in 1857, it needs to be rightly appreciated as the First War of Independence. The bravery of the Paikas and others to oust the mighty Britishers from Odisha is the tale of courage and patriotism” .

He said the nature of the revolt was widespread and it was a rebellion in which all sections of people participated.

“It would indeed be a befitting tribute to declare Paika Rebellion as First War of Independence on the occasion of 200 years of the historic event,” said Panda.

Notably, the resistance against the British rule began from Ghumsur and subsequently spread to Banpur in Khurda, Pipili, Puri, Kujanga, Pattamundai and Keonjhar. Paikas (the traditional landed militia of Odisha), zamindars, malangis, peasants and tribals participated in the freedom struggle.

Paika Bidroha Was The First War Of Independence In 1817

Read more about Bharat Arun Indian cricket team bowling coach.


Related posts

ଅମ୍ବାନୀଙ୍କ ଆୟ ଦିନକୁ ୩୦୦ କୋଟି,ସପ୍ତମ ଥର ପାଇଁ ହେଲେ ଶ୍ରେଷ୍ଠ ଭାରତୀୟ ଧନୀ

ENO Beuro

ଏସ୍‌ବିଆଇ ପକ୍ଷରୁ କ୍ୟାପିଟାଲ ହସ୍ପିଟାଲରେ ଅଧିକ ରୋଗୀ ଚିକିତ୍ସା ହେବାର ସୁବିଧା

ENO Beuro

ମୃତ୍ୟୁ ଗୁମ୍ଫାରୁ ଉଦ୍ଧାର ହେଲେ ୪ ଫୁଟବଲ ଖେଳାଳି

ENO Beuro

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More